My purple barnet

So last week I finally made a decision about what I wanted to do with my hair. I’ve been playing around with victory rolls for a little while and decided I wanted to try and add a swish of colour to the middle of my roll…

victory roll

Something cool and edgy like Diablo Rose or Betty Pamper. Except I’m a fairly young manager in my workplace and I think they might turn their nose up if I rocked up to work with an awesomely bright new ‘do! With that in mind, I opted for a nice subtle Violet!

hair dye

To be fair, in my (rather out of date) experience of hair dye, they’re never as intense as the colour on the box so I figured, if I bleached the front section of my hair and then covered it with the violet dye then only the front section would be vibrant Violet. Which I could pin back for work, if necessary.

blonde streak

As you can see the bleaching was a piece of cake – stripped my natural colour out no problem (I used Bleach Total Bleach, if you’re interested). The ends were still slightly orange, but considering how dark my natural hair colour is and the fact I was going to dye straight over it, I think it did the job alright!)

Then I put the dye on…

And ended up dying it all back to the same colour!

 purple hair

Once the dye starts to fade, I think there will be a bit of a difference in my victory roll, but at the moment I’m certainly not seeing the desired effect. (For a post-dye victory roll have a look at my Bee’s Knees post).

It could’ve gone better, but it could’ve been a whole lot worse!

What do you think of the colour? Anyone else considering any vibrant shades? Has anyone got any recommendations for a slightly bluer purple dye?

I’d really appreciate your comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

