DI(Y)-Wagon-Alley

Possibly the worst pun known to man, but it’s the best I can come up with on a Friday evening after a long week! 🙂
This is a little share of our DIY wagon pimping – nothing to do with Harry Potter, I’m afraid! 🙂
So we bought a wagon off Amazon – similar to this one although this is a different seller.  It arrived like this:

image

And I managed to put it together fairly quickly and easily:

image

A few of the reviews I read suggested treating the wood as it was a bit rough and wouldn’t be very water resistant so I decided to use a chalk board paint (suitable for outdoor use) so the wagon could double up as entertainment or a creative outlet if we needed it!

image

We used it as a chalk board at the tent but not so much when we were in the arena – there was other things worthy of their attention then! 🙂
I also made a mattress and pillows so they could snuggle down for a nap if need be… we’d planned to be revelling into the early evening but, if you’ve read my previous post you’ll know that it didn’t exactly pan out like that! Maybe next year if there’s less whinging!
But here’s some photos of me making the snuggle accessories:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

If anyone wants more info about how I did it then I’m happy to elaborate! 😉

image

You can kinda see the edges of the mattress folding up the sides of the wagon here… H isn’t actually asleep – just resting!

image

image

Honestly, I did pull it too – I just couldn’t take a good picture of myself! 😉

Having a wagon was really handy, particularly for lugging our camping equipment (and World’s Heaviest Tent) in and out of the site. The kid’s loved it and loads of families had various versions (many were pimped too!) which was great to see. I’m not sure how long the canopy will last – it already has some minor damage. I’ll probably be making a new canopy (ideally transparent – E didn’t like being closed in!) for next year. And the bolt holding the handle on kept coming loose. But for a £40 wagon and a bit of a bling up I think it stood up to the challenge – and looked pretty stylish too!
I’d love to know what you think – or show me your own pimped wagons! 🙂

Leave a Reply

