Silly Old Sea Dog – Review

I can’t even remember how long ago it was that I stumbled across Silly Old Sea Dog, but I think it was through Georgina from Fuller Figure Fuller Bust. It was honestly love at first sight!

The dress I fell in love with was this comic book fabric 50’s dress (which seems to no longer on their website – I Googled for the image and found it on this European blog!) – but the Β£90 price tag and my limited clothes budget (I’ve got kids so I can’t justify spending that on one item!) meant I could only dream of owning one of these beautiful dresses.

Until I spotted they were having a sale – about 3 weeks ago – just before my holiday to Portugal. An amazing mermaid print halter neck dress in a size 26 was winking at me to buy it! πŸ™‚

I thought I might need to take it in and alter the neckline but at a bargain price of Β£35 it was too good to miss! I snapped it up! And I’m so glad I did!

photo 1

(Sorry about my stupid expression!) I had to take it in a bit and I altered the halter neck to make straps and a hair ribbon! I had some lovely comments from other guests on holiday asking where my dress was from. I’m the kind of girl who likes to draw a bit of attention!

image

image

Sorry – you can see my black tights in this one – not as warm now I’m home! πŸ™‚

image

The material is just gorgeous! The mermaids are striking – perfect for a stroll along a sunny beach.

Now I’m not saying the dresses are not good value for money – they’re beautifully handmade with care from funky, good quality fabrics. They’re worth every penny – I’m well aware I got a bargain in the sale! (I’m a crafter too so I know handmade costs!) I want to wear funky dresses like this every day – not just for a special occasion. If I could afford it I’d have 10 of them! So I’m going to start saving for my next one…

But for now – I’ll have to stick with my mermaid one. Although, now it’s tights season again – I might have to wait for the sun to shine before I can wear it again! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

